A broadside collision can lead to serious injuries for both drivers and passengers. If you were hurt in a motor vehicle collision that was not your fault, it is important to explore your options with a knowledgeable car accident attorney.
Our car accident lawyers are dedicated to fighting for the rights of victims and seeking the compensation that they deserve for their harm. Continue reading to learn more!
Causes of Side-Impact Accidents
Side-impact accidents are commonly referred to as "t-bone" or "broadside" collisions. There are a number of reasons why a broadside collision may take place, including drivers who fail to yield, make left turns recklessly, speed through red lights, or run stop signs. While the severity varies, a t-bone accident may cause vehicles to spin or even roll over.
A careless driver is typically responsible for causing a broadside collision, as with other types of car accidents. If you have been hurt by someone who failed to operate his or her vehicle carefully, you can potentially file a lawsuit under the theory of negligence. This is broadly defined as the failure to act as a reasonably prudent individual would have under the same or similar circumstances.
To establish that a driver was negligent, you must show that you were owed a duty of care by that person, he or she breached the duty of care with some specific action, a side-impact crash directly resulted from the breach, and you incurred damages that are reasonably quantifiable.
Compensation for Broadside Collisions
Victims of a t-bone car accident are likely to need medical attention and may be unable to work while they recover. As a result, injured individuals may be able to seek compensation for medical expenses, rehabilitation and therapy costs, lost income, pain and suffering, property damage, and any other costs arising from the accident.
If you have lost a loved one in a tragically fatal broadside collision, you may be able to file a wrongful death claim. These actions are designed to help families obtain compensation for a deceased relative's medical bills, lost income, funeral costs, and other damages. Wrongful death claims are complicated and time-sensitive, which is why it is vital to talk to a car accident attorney as soon as possible if you are contemplating pursing this type of action.
Statute of Limitations
Under Florida law, a personal injury claim must be filed within 4 years from the date of an accident. Moreover, a wrongful death claim must be filed within 2 years from the date of the victim's death. Failing to file within these time limits usually will mean being barred from collecting damages.
Our Legal Team
People who have been involved in a t-bone car accident or other collision should contact the Florida injury attorneys at Lusk, Drasites, & Tolisano. We are equipped to handle every aspect of your case. With many years of experience, we can meticulously assess the details of your situation and help you explore your legal options.
We proudly represent residents near Cape Coral, Fort Myers, and Naples. Call us toll-free at (239) 908-4930.
No Fees Until We WinWe offer Free Consultations, and work on Contingency Fees for Personal Injury cases. This means we ask for nothing from you until your injury case is concluded.
Prioritizing Your Experience
As a member of our community, we want to put your needs first, far ahead of the bottom line. We treat our clients like people, and never just like cases.
In Practice Since 1982We at Lusk, Drasites & Tolisano have been in practice for 40 years, which means you can count on our skill, experience, and community value to help you through your case.
"Answering all my questions and making me feel very important."Shannon D.
"Highly recommend."Rebecca M.
"There isn't enough stars for me to give."Lynn E.