No matter how deserving your claim, an insurance company will explore every angle to get out of paying the compensation you deserve. Fortunately, a car accident attorney from our personal injury law firm can make sure you’re not taken advantage of after an accident.
Ourhave experience dealing with insurance companies and can help you avoid common legal pitfalls.
Continue reading to learn when you should and shouldn’t.
Beware of Insurance Claims Adjusters
Insurance adjusters protect their company’s best interests by looking for ways to deny your claim or give you the lowest possible settlement.
While an insurance adjuster may seem compassionate and understanding of your circumstances, they are also trained to extract information from you that can be used to deny your claim. For example, an insurance adjuster may use a recorded statement to show inconsistencies in your testimony at trial.
Don’t give an insurance adjuster more information than what they need. If you absolutely must give a recorded statement to your insurance company, we recommend you consult with an auto accident attorney from our personal injury law firm beforehand.
Insurance adjusters have plenty of sneaky ways to deny your claim or significantly reduce your settlement. For example, an insurance adjuster may ask, “How are you feeling today?” in the hopes you’ll say “good” out of habit or politeness. Your recorded response could then later be used against you in court to prove that your injury wasn’t serious.
File Claim with Insurance Company
Since, you’ll need to first file a claim with your own insurance company to receive compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and other out-of-pocket expenses. You will then be able to receive compensation up to the limits of your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) coverage. PIP coverage protects you regardless of who was at fault for the accident.
You may also be able to file a claim against the at-fault driver if they caused serious injury or death. In this case, the other driver’s insurance company would pay up to the limits of their Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) coverage.
The state of Florida requires drivers to carry a minimum BIL coverage of:
- $10,000 per person per accident
- $20,000 for all persons per accident
If your settlement exceeds the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage, they would then be responsible for paying the remainder.
Unless you meet the conditions for stepping outside the no-fault system, you’ll only be able to receive compensation up to the limits of your own PIP coverage. For this reason, it’s important you hire a car accident attorney if you suspect your case will be difficult to prove.
In general, Florida law requires you to cooperate with your insurance company when filing a no-fault claim. Depending on your policy, you may need to give your insurance company a recorded statement and be examined by one of their doctors.
If you don’t comply with your insurance company, they may be able to deny your claim. Fortunately, our car accident lawyers will be able to guide you through the process of filing a no-fault claim while looking out for your best interests.
Have Attorney Review Documents Before Signing Anything
Ask one of our car accident lawyers to go over documents with you before signing. Often, insurance companies will try to get you to sign a broad medical release form that gives them access to private information not relevant to your.
One of our auto accident attorneys will make sure the insurance company has what it needs to process your claim and nothing more.
Call Lusk, Drasites, & Tolisano, P.A.
Our car accident attorneys work hard to make sure you get the compensation you need for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages. To request a consultation with one of our car accident lawyers in Naples, Cape Coral, and Fort Myers, call Lusk, Drasites, & Tolisano, P.A. at (800) 283-7442.
This blog post has been updated.