Since Florida is a no-fault car insurance state, you’ll need to first file a no-fault claim with your own insurance company regardless of who’s at fault. If you have any questions or concerns, call our legal office today.
Our car accident lawyers will be able to advise you on the best steps to take following a car accident so you can receive the most compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and other damages.
Continue reading to learn why you’ll still need to call your insurance company, even if thewasn’t your fault.
FILE A NO-FAULT CLAIM WITH YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY
Regardless of who’s at fault for the car accident, you’ll need to first file a no-fault claim with your auto insurance company. Under Florida law, all drivers are required to carry at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. PIP coverage gives you compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and other economic damages after a car accident.
The only way you’ll be able to collect non-economic damages, such as those for pain and suffering, is if your case meets the requirements to file a third-party claim against the at-fault driver. One of our car accident attorneys at our law firm will be able to determine whether you’ll be able to step outside the no-fault system.
USE YOUR COLLISION COVERAGE
Collision coverage protects you in the event you need to repair or replace your vehicle after a car accident. In the event of an accident, you’ll be responsible for paying up to your deductible amount before your insurance kicks in to pay the rest. For example, a $1,000 deductible means you’ll have to pay $1,000 out-of-pocket before your insurance steps forward to pay up to your policy limits.
Under Florida law, it’s required that drivers carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability coverage. This means that you’ll be able to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company for property damage. However, even if you weren’t at fault for the car accident, it may be more expedient to use your own collision coverage. In this situation, your insurance company would later seek reimbursement from the at-fault driver’s insurance company. One of our car accident lawyers can help you better understand your situation.
NOTIFY YOUR INSURANCE COMPANY
While you’ll need to let your insurance company know you were in an accident, you’ll want to watch what you say. Insurance companies will look for any reason to reduce your compensation for medical bills, lost wages, and other economic damages.
Make sure your insurance company has basic information, such as the date, time, and location of the accident and the contact information of other parties. Don’t talk about who is at fault until you talk to one of our car accident attorneys at our .
If you wait too long to report a car accident to your insurance company, they may have grounds to deny your claim. One of our car accident lawyers can help walk you through the process of filing a claim with your insurance company.
We want to make it clear that in most cases you shouldn’t contact the other driver’s insurance company. Since Florida is a no-fault state, you’ll need to first contact your own auto insurance company so you can file a claim under your personal injury protection coverage. If you are suing the at-fault driver due to serious injury or death, your attorney can speak on your behalf.
REQUEST A CONSULTATION WITH US
Our car accident attorneys are proud to serve clients near Cape Coral, Fort Myers, and Naples. To request a consultation with one of our Florida car accident lawyers, call Lusk, Drasites, & Tolisano PA at (800) 283-7442.
This blog post has been updated.